TANZANIA COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITIES

Universities for Prosperity



SUMA JKT House, P.O. Box 2600, 1 JKT Street, 41104 Tambukareli, Dodoma Ministry of Education, Science and Technology Building, P.O. Box 6562, 7 Magogoni Street, 11479 Dar es Salaam

Tel: +255 22 2113694; +255 22 2113691

Email: es@tcu.go.tz Website: www.tcu.go.tz

University Institutions Approved to operate in Tanzania as of February 22, 2024

The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) was established on July 1, 2005 through the enactment of the Universities Act, Cap. 346, with the legal mandate to regulate both private and public owned university institutions in Tanzania.

As of February 2024, the number of approved university institutions operating in Tanzania is 49, whereas 19 are public-owned and 30 are private-owned university institutions.

The public is hereby notified that any university institution which does not appear in this list is **NOT** authorised to offer university education in Tanzania in line with the Universities Act, Cap. 346.

1.0 FULLY FLEDGED UNIVERSITIES

1.1 Public Universities

SN	Name of the University	Head Office	Year of Establishment	Status
1.	University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM)	Dar es Salaam	1961	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA)	Morogoro	1984	Accredited and Chartered
3.	Open University of Tanzania (OUT)	Dar es Salaam	1992	Accredited and Chartered
4.	State University of Zanzibar (SUZA)	Zanzibar	1999	Accredited
5.	Mzumbe University (MU)	Morogoro	2001	Accredited and Chartered
6.	Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology (NMAIST)	Arusha	2005	Accredited and Chartered
7.	Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS)	Dar es Salaam	2006	Accredited and Chartered
8.	Ardhi University (ARU)	Dar es Salaam	2007	Accredited and Chartered
9.	University of Dodoma (UDOM)	Dodoma	2007	Accredited and Chartered
10.	Mbeya University of Science and Technology (MUST)	Mbeya	2012	Accredited and Chartered
11.	Moshi Cooperative University (MoCU)	Moshi	2012	Accredited and Chartered
12.	Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology (MJNUAT)	Musoma	2012	Provisional Licence

1.2 Private Universities

SN	Name of the University	Head Office	Year of Establishment	Status
1.	Hubert Kairuki Memorial University (HKMU)	Dar es Salaam	1996	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Abdulrahman Al-Sumait University (SUMAIT)	Zanzibar	1998	Accredited
3.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania (SAUT)	Mwanza	1998	Accredited and Chartered
4.	Zanzibar University (ZU)	Zanzibar	1998	Accredited and Chartered
5.	Tumaini University Makumira (TUMA)	Arusha	1999	Certificate of Full Registration and Chartered
6.	Aga Khan University (AKU)	Dar es Salaam	2001	Accredited and Chartered
7.	Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences (CUHAS)	Mwanza	2003	Accredited
8.	University of Arusha (UoA)	Arusha	2003	Accredited and Chartered
9.	St. Joseph University in Tanzania (SJUIT)	Dar es Salaam	2004	Accredited
10.	Teofilo Kisanji University (TEKU)	Mbeya	2004	Accredited and Chartered
11.	Mwenge Catholic University (MWECAU)	Moshi	2005	Accredited
12.	Muslim University of Morogoro (MUM)	Morogoro	2005	Accredited and Chartered
13.	University of Iringa (UoI)	Iringa	2005	Accredited
14.	St. John's University of Tanzania (SJUT)	Dodoma	2007	Accredited and Chartered
15.	Kampala International University in Tanzania (KIUT)	Dar es Salaam	2008	Accredited
16.	United African University of Tanzania (UAUT)	Dar es Salaam	2011	Accredited
17.	Ruaha Catholic University (RUCU)	Iringa	2014	Accredited
18.	Mwanza University (MzU)	Mwanza	2021	Provisional Licence
19.	Catholic University of Mbeya (CUoM), formerly CUCoM	Mbeya	2023	Accredited
20.	Dar es Salaam Tumaini University (DarTU), formerly TUDARCo	Dar es Saaam	2023	Accredited
21.	Rabininsia Memorial University of Health and Allied Sciences (RMUHAS)	Dar es Salaam	2023	Provisional Licence

SN	Name of the University	Head Office	Year of Establishment	Status
22.	University of Medical Sciences and Technology (UMST)	Dar es Salaam	2023	Provisional Licence

2.0 UNIVERSITY COLLEGES

2.1 Public University Colleges

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation	Head Office	Year of Establishment	Status
1.	Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE)	University College under UDSM	Dar es Salaam	2005	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE)	University College under UDSM	Iringa	2005	Accredited and Chartered
3.	Mzumbe University – Dar es Salaam Campus College (MU – Dar es Salaam Campus College)	Campus College under MU	Dar es Salaam	2005	Accredited
4.	Mzumbe University – Mbeya Campus College (MU – Mbeya Campus College)	Campus College under MU	Mbeya	2006	Accredited
5.	Mbeya College of Health and Allied Sciences (MCHAS)	Campus College under UDSM	Mbeya	2014	Accredited
6.	Mbeya University of Science and Technology – Rukwa Campus College (MUST – RC)	Campus College under MUST	Rukwa	2019	Accredited
7.	Sokoine University of Agriculture – Mizengo Pinda Campus College (SUA – MPC)	Campus College under SUA	Katavi	2020	Accredited

2.2 Private University Colleges

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation	Head Office	Year of Establishment	Status
1.	Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College (KCMUCo)	University College under TUMA	Moshi	1998	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Stefano Moshi Memorial University College (SMMUCo)	University College under TUMA	Moshi	2000	Certificate of Full Registration and Chartered
3.	Archbishop Mihayo University College of Tabora (AMUCTA)	University College under SAUT	Tabora	2010	Accredited
4.	Jordan University College (JUCo)	University College under SAUT	Morogoro	2010	Accredited
5.	St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences (SFUCHAS)	University College under SAUT	Morogoro	2010	Certificate of Full Registration
6.	Stella Maris Mtwara University College (STeMMUCo)	University College under SAUT	Mtwara	2011	Accredited
7.	Marian University College (MARUCo)	University College under SAUT	Bagamoyo	2015	Accredited
8.	St. Joseph University College of Health and Allied Sciences (SJCHAS)	University College under SJUIT	Dar es Salaam	2015	Accredited

3.0 UNIVERSITY CAMPUSES, CENTRES AND INSTITUTES

3.1 Public University Campuses, Centres and Institutes

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation	Head Office	Year of Establishment	Status
1.	Institute of Marine Sciences (IMS)	University institute under UDSM	Zanzibar	1979	As per status of the Mother University
2.	Kizumbi Institute of Cooperative Business Education (KICoB)	University institute under MoCU	Shinyanga	2021	As per status of the Mother University

3.2 Private University Campuses, Centres and Institutes

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation	Head Office	Year of Establishment	Status
1.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Dar es Salaam Centre	University Centre under SAUT	Dar es Salaam	2007	As per status of the Mother University
2.	Stefano Moshi Memorial University College, Mwika Centre	University Centre under SMMUCo	Moshi	2009	As per status of the Mother University
3.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Arusha Centre	University Centre under SAUT	Arusha	2013	As per status of the Mother University

The public is hereby notified that any university institution which does not appear in this list is **NOT** authorised to offer university education in Tanzania in line with the Universities Act, Cap. 346. The public is requested to report any suspicious institution to:

Executive Secretary,
Tanzania Commission for Universities,
P.O. Box 2600,
Dodoma, Tanzania
OR;
P.O. Box 6562,
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Email: es@tcu.go.tz