TANZANIA COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITIES

Universities for Prosperity



SUMA JKT House, P.O. Box 2600, 1 JKT Street, 41104 Tambukareli, Dodoma Ministry of Education, Science and Technology Building, P.O. Box 6562, 7 Magogoni Street, 11479 Dar es Salaam Tel: +255 22 2113694; +255 22 2113691 Email: es@tcu.go.tz Website: www.tcu.go.tz

University Institutions Approved to operate in Tanzania as of February 22, 2024

The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) was established on July 1, 2005 through the enactment of the Universities Act, Cap. 346, with the legal mandate to regulate both private and public-owned university institutions in Tanzania.

As of February 2024, the number of approved university institutions operating in Tanzania is 49, whereas 19 are public-owned and 30 are private-owned university institutions.

The public is hereby notified that any university institution which does not appear in this list is **NOT** authorised to offer university education in Tanzania in line with the Universities Act, Cap. 346.

1.0 FULLY FLEDGED UNIVERSITIES

1.1 Public Universities

SN	Name of the University	Head Office	Status
1.	University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA)	Morogoro	Accredited and Chartered
3.	Open University of Tanzania (OUT)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
4.	State University of Zanzibar (SUZA)	Zanzibar	Accredited
5.	Mzumbe University (MU)	Morogoro	Accredited and Chartered
6.	Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology (NM-AIST)	Arusha	Accredited and Chartered
7.	Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
8.	Ardhi University (ARU)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
9.	University of Dodoma (UDOM)	Dodoma	Accredited and Chartered
10.	Mbeya University of Science and Technology (MUST)	Mbeya	Accredited and Chartered
11.	Moshi Cooperative University (MoCU)	Moshi	Accredited and Chartered
12.	Mwalimu Julius K. Nyerere University of Agriculture and Technology (MJNUAT)	Musoma	Provisional Licence

1.2 Private Universities

SN	Name of the University	Head Office	Status
1.	Kairuki University (KU), formerly HKMU	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Abdulrahman Al-Sumait University (SUMAIT)	Zanzibar	Accredited
3.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania (SAUT)	Mwanza	Accredited and Chartered
4.	Zanzibar University (ZU)	Zanzibar	Accredited and Chartered
5.	Tumaini University Makumira (TUMA)	Arusha	Certificate of Full Registration and Chartered
6.	Aga Khan University (AKU)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
7.	Catholic University of Health and Allied Sciences (CUHAS)	Mwanza	Accredited
8.	University of Arusha (UoA)	Arusha	Accredited and Chartered
9.	St. Joseph University in Tanzania (SJUIT)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited
10.	Teofilo Kisanji University (TEKU)	Mbeya	Accredited and Chartered
11.	Mwenge Catholic University (MWECAU)	Moshi	Accredited
12.	Muslim University of Morogoro (MUM)	Morogoro	Accredited and Chartered
13.	University of Iringa (UoI)	Iringa	Accredited
14.	St. John's University of Tanzania (SJUT)	Dodoma	Accredited and Chartered
15.	Kampala International University in Tanzania (KIUT)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited
16.	United African University of Tanzania (UAUT)	Dar es Salaam	Accredited
17.	Ruaha Catholic University (RUCU)	Iringa	Accredited
18.	Mwanza University (MzU)	Mwanza	Provisional Licence
19.	Catholic University of Mbeya (CUoM), formerly CUCoM	Mbeya	Accredited
20.	Dar es Salaam Tumaini University (DarTU), formerly TUDARCo	Dar es Saaam	Accredited
21.	Rabininsia Memorial University of Health and Allied Sciences (RMUHAS)	Dar es Salaam	Provisional Licence
22.	University of Medical Sciences and Technology (UMST)	Dar es Salaam	Provisional Licence

2.0 UNIVERSITY COLLEGES

2.1 Public University Colleges

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation Head Office		Status
1.	Dar es Salaam University College of Education (DUCE)	University College under UDSM	Dar es Salaam	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Mkwawa University College of Education (MUCE)	University College under UDSM	Iringa	Accredited and Chartered
3.	Mzumbe University – Dar es Salaam Campus College (MU – Dar es Salaam Campus College)	Campus College under MU	Dar es Salaam	Accredited
4.	Mzumbe University – Mbeya Campus College (MU – Mbeya Campus College)	Campus College under MU	Mbeya	Accredited
5.	Mbeya College of Health and Allied Sciences (MCHAS)	Campus College under UDSM	Mbeya	Accredited
6.	Mbeya University of Science and Technology – Rukwa Campus College (MUST – RC)	Campus College under MUST	Rukwa	Accredited
7.	Sokoine University of Agriculture – Mizengo Pinda Campus College (SUA – MPC)	Campus College under SUA	Katavi	Accredited

2.2 Private University Colleges

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation	Head Office	Status
1.	Kilimanjaro Christian Medical University College (KCMUCo)	University College under TUMA	Moshi	Accredited and Chartered
2.	Stefano Moshi Memorial University College (SMMUCo)	University College under TUMA	Moshi	Certificate of Full Registration and Chartered
3.	Archbishop Mihayo University College of Tabora (AMUCTA)	University College under SAUT	Tabora	Accredited
4.	Jordan University College (JUCo)	University College under SAUT	Morogoro	Accredited
5.	St. Francis University College of Health and Allied Sciences (SFUCHAS)	University College under SAUT	Morogoro	Certificate of Full Registration
6.	Stella Maris Mtwara University College (STeMMUCo)	University College under SAUT	Mtwara	Accredited
7.	Marian University College (MARUCo)	University College under SAUT	Bagamoyo	Accredited
8.	St. Joseph University College of Health and Allied Sciences (SJCHAS)	University College under SJUIT	Dar es Salaam	Accredited

3.0 UNIVERSITY CAMPUSES, CENTRES AND INSTITUTES

3.1 Public University Campuses, Centres and Institutes

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation	Head Office	Status
1.	Institute of Marine Sciences (IMS)	University institute under UDSM	Zanzibar	As per status of the Mother University
2.	Kizumbi Institute of Cooperative Business Education (KICoB)	University institute under MoCU	Shinyanga	As per status of the Mother University

Universities for Prosperity

3.2 Private University Campuses, Centres and Institutes

SN	Name of the Institution	Affiliation	Head Office	Status
1.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Dar es Salaam Centre	University Centre under SAUT	Dar es Salaam	As per status of the Mother University
2.	Stefano Moshi Memorial University College, Mwika Centre	University Centre under SMMUCo	Moshi	As per status of the Mother University
3.	St. Augustine University of Tanzania, Arusha Centre	University Centre under SAUT	Arusha	As per status of the Mother University

The public is hereby notified that any university institution which does not appear in this list is **NOT** authorised to offer university education in Tanzania in line with the Universities Act, Cap. 346. The public is requested to report any suspicious institution to:

Executive Secretary, Tanzania Commission for Universities, P.O. Box 2600, Dodoma, Tanzania *OR;* P.O. Box 6562, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Email: es@tcu.go.tz

Universities for Prosperity