

THE UNITED REPUBLIC OF TANZANIA MINISTRY OF EDUCATION, SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY TANZANIA COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITIES



Dar es Salaam, 1 November, 2023

PUBLIC NOTICE

FIRST-YEAR STUDENTS TRANSFER PROCEDURES FOR THE 2023/2024 ACADEMIC YEAR

1.0 INTRODUCTION

The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) wishes to inform Higher Education Institutions and admitted students into various undergraduate degree programmes in the 2023/2024 academic year that *the transfer window will be open from 6 November to 13 November, 2023.*

2.0 TRANSFER PROCEDURES

Transfer procedures for the first-year students wishing to transfer from one university to another, whether the same or different programme (interuniversity transfer) or from one programme to another within an institution (intra-university transfer) are as follows:

- a) Applications for transfers should be submitted in writing to the institution to which a student wants to transfer to;
- b) Students transfer from one institution to another or programme within the institution is permissible provided that institutions shall comply with the following conditions:
 - i) The student to be transferred must have been previously admitted into a degree programme in the current academic year;
 - ii) The programme to which transfer is sought must have empty slots to accommodate new students; and
 - iii) The applicant must possess the minimum entry requirements for that particular degree programme.
- c) All transfers shall be processed at the receiving institution; and

Ministry of Education, Science and Technology Building, P.O. Box 6562, 7 Magogoni Street, 11479 Dar es Salaam, Tel: +255 22 2113694, 2113691, Fax: +255 2113692, Email: <u>es@tcu.go.tz</u>, Website: <u>www.tcu.go.tz</u>

d) Receiving institutions should approve the transfer through their respective Senates/ Boards and submit the same to TCU within the set deadline.

Higher Education Institutions and admitted students are required to abide by the set transfer procedures.

Issued by:

Cilian

Prof. Charles D. Kihampa EXECUTIVE SECRETARY TANZANIA COMMISSION FOR UNIVERSITIES